University Basel Open Access Publication Fund



Open Access Gold

Von art designer at PLoS, modified by Wikipedia users Nina, Beao, and JakobVoss.

Gold Open Access Publication Fund 2020-2022

The University of Basel supports Open Access publications. For Open Access publications for which the Article Processing Charge (APC) cannot be covered by third-party funding, the University will provide a complementary fund from January 2020 onwards. All members of the University of Basel can apply for funding.

If you are financed by third-party funding: All major research funders support Gold Open Access publications. For information on their funding possibilities see:
Swiss National Science Foundation
Horizon 2020

featured_play_list

Requirements for funding

A. The publication’s first author or corresponding author is a member of the University of Basel (unibas e-mail address).
B. The publication is a journal article or a book contribution.
C. The Book or journal in which the article will be published, is fully Open Access.
D. The venue of publication is peer-reviewed or fulfils equivalent quality criteria established in the field of research.
E. There is no third-party funding that also covers costs for open access publications.

A maximum grant of CHF 2'500 at maximum a grant of CHF 2'500 per publication is possible. A partial financing of higher publication fees can be granted (not in addition to third-party funding).

In addition: The University Library's agreements with selected publishers entitle the user to discounts on publication fees (Article Processing Charges). Open Access or Open Access Hybrid publications books are excluded from funding.

settings

How to request funds

Please use the application form and send the signed application together with the unpaid invoice (reimbursement is not possible) to:openaccess@unibas.ch (Subject: Application OA Publication Fund). You will receive prompt notification as to whether or not publication fees can be covered by the fund.

Please send us your invoices in good time, as at least two weeks must be allowed for the processing of the invoice. Applications are processed in the order in which they are received. The date of receipt is used as the determining factor for consideration, should the fund be exhausted prematurely.

The University of Basel prefers paying the costs directly to the publisher. Since January 1, 2021, it is now also possible to refund APCs that have already been paid. However, the invoice must be less than two months old, and must have been paid by an institutional cost centre. Refunds to private accounts are unfortunately not possible. The publisher’s invoice and proof of payment (for internal university cost centres) or an invoice (for non-university cost centres) should be sent with the application.

If you have any questions about the Publication Fund, please contact openaccess@unibas.ch.

It is open!

Publikationsfonds der Universität Basel für Open Access



Open Access Gold

Von art designer at PLoS, modified by Wikipedia users Nina, Beao, and JakobVoss.

Pilotprojekt Open Access Publikationsfonds 2020-2022

Die Universität Basel unterstützt Forschende bei Open Access Publikationen. Für Open Access Publikationen, bei denen die Article Processing Charge (APC) nicht durch eine Drittmittelförderung abgedeckt werden kann, stellt die Universität ab Januar einen Fond bereit. Angehörige der Universität Basel können die Förderung beantragen.

Wenn Sie durch eine Drittmittelförderung finanziert sind, finden Sie Informationen für Antragsmöglichkeiten für Gold Open Access Publikationen auf den folgenden Seiten:
Schweizerischer Nationanlfonds
Horizon 2020

featured_play_list

Kriterien für den Open Access Publikationsfonds

A. Hauptautoren/Hauptautorinnen oder Corresponding Authors gehören der Universität Basel an (unibas-Email-Adresse).
B. Die Publikation ist ein Zeitschriftenartikel oder ein Buchbeitrag.
C. Die Zeitschrift bzw. das Buch, in der/dem die Publikation erscheint, ist vollständig Open Access.
D. Die Zeitschrift hat ein Peer-Review-Verfahren oder erfüllt äquivalente, im Fach etablierte Begutachtungskriterien.
E. Es liegt keine Drittmittelfinanzierung vor, die auch Kosten für Gold Open Access Publikationen abdeckt.

Maximal ist eine Förderung von CHF 2'500 pro Publikation möglich. Eine Teilfinanzierung von höheren Publikationsgebühren ist möglich (nicht ergänzend zu einer Drittmittelfinanzierung).

Nicht gefördert werden Hybrid Open Access Publikationen oder Open Access Bücher.

settings

Vorgehen

Bitte füllen Sie das Formular aus. Verschicken Sie den unterschriebenen Antrag zusammen mit der noch unbezahlten Originalrechnung (Rückerstattungen sind nicht möglich) an: openaccess@unibas.ch (Betreff: Antrag-Publikationsfonds). Sie erhalten zeitnah Bescheid, ob Publikationsgebühren durch den Fonds gedeckt werden können oder nicht.

Bitte schicken Sie uns Ihre Rechnungen rechtzeitig, denn es müssen mindestens zwei Wochen für die Bearbeitung der Rechnung eingeplant werden. Anträge werden nach Reihenfolge des Eingangs bearbeitet. Das Eingangsdatum ist massgebend für die Berücksichtigung, sollte der Fonds vorzeitig erschöpft sein.

Die Universität Basel bevorzugt die direkte Bezahlung der Kosten an den Verlag. Es besteht seit dem 1. Januar 2021 aber ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, bereits bezahlte APC zurück zu erstatten. Die Rechnung darf jedoch nicht älter als zwei Monate und muss von einer institutionellen Kostenstelle bezahlt worden sein. Rückerstattungen auf private Konten sind leider nicht möglich. Mit dem Antrag wird die Rechnung des Verlages und ein Nachweis über die geleistete Zahlung (für universitätsinterne Kostenstellen) bzw. eine Rechnung (für ausseruniversitäre Stellen) geschickt.

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich gerne an openaccess@unibas.ch.

It is open!